WhatsApp has modified its ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature, with respect to the time limit in which users can revoke messages

The Facebook owned messaging app has updated the ‘Recipient limit’ of its ‘delete for everyone’ feature. It was last year when WhatsApp  launched the most sought after feature, “delete for everyone.” Just as the name implies, this feature enables the users to revoke messages in case they were sent to a wrong contact or group.

When the feature was first launched, users were allowed to delete/recall a message within 7 minutes of sending it. Soon after, the company increased this limit to 1 hour 8 minutes and 16 seconds. Now the company is reportedly planning to change this feature further for better user experience.




According to a tweet from WABetaInfo, WhatsApp users will now get a window of up to 13 hours, 8 minutes and 16 seconds in which they must accept the delete request. If the recipient fails to get the delete request during this time line of 13 hours, 8 minutes and 16 seconds (maybe because the phone was off), the message sent by the user cannot be deleted even after he/she tapped on the ‘Delete for Everyone’.

This step appears to be in response to random delete requests for older messages. This change in the ‘delete for everyone’ feature is intended to be a protection against modded users. These users want to revoke messages sent weeks, months and years ago. With this feature the company aims to ensure that the modified version of the app does not manipulate the time of days, weeks and months for ‘delete for everyone feature. Moreover, all the request for delete works in the background and the user don’t have to do anything on the front end.

Currently it is not clear whether the new “recipient limit” will apply if the recipient quickly switches off the phone and keeps the device off for over 14 hours or switches off the internet immediately after the text message is recieved.

At present, if you switch off your mobile data immediately after a message (to be revoked later) is sent, message stays on the device. It gets deleted only after you switch on your data. As WhatsApp users we need more clarity on this situation.



LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here