The Croatian footballer Luka Modric, stunningly ended the ten-year domination of Lionel Messi and Christiano Ronaldo in football’s individual awards by being crowned FIFA’s best player of the year this last Monday.

Croatian midfielder plays not only for his country but also for the Real Madrid football club and played some of the best football we’ve witnessed this year. He played like a hero for both, his country and his club by helping Real Madrid win the Champions League title for the 3rd time and inspired Croatia to reach the World Cup final of 2018 for the first time in history.

Modric out won his fellow competitors by a 29.05% overall standing and percentage vote.  Creating a marginal difference of 9.97% between himself and Ronaldo, having an overall per cent of 19.08%. Tailing right behind them was the Liverpool Egyptian forward, Mohammad Salah with an overall per cent vote of 11.23%.

On winning the FIFA ‘Best Player of the Year’ he said,” The emotion is huge because it is thanks to the work of everyone. So many people came together and so many have supported me.”

It was also noticed that the football moguls Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi did not attend the glitzy awards ceremony. It is said that the footballers were training for the Juventus v/s Barcelona that will be played on today (Wednesday). The football stars attracted a lot of flak for not attending the Award ceremony.

“Everyone has their own reasons,” said Modric “obviously I would have liked them to be there but they aren’t”

Modric winning the ‘Best Player of the Year’ means that Ronaldo and Messi remain tied with having won FIFA’s awards in different guises five times each.

The Belgian goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois won the best goalkeeper award for helping the Belgian team reach the World Cup semi-finals along with winning the FA Cup with Chelsea before a summer move to Madrid.

Brazil’s Marta was awarded the best women’s player for a record sixth time for her role in winning the Copa America to beat out Lyon duo Ada Hegerberg and Dzsenifer Marozsan.

France national team coach Didier Deschamps and Lyon manager Reynald Pedros won Best Men’s and Women’s Coach respectively.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here